“An educated man should know everything about something, and something about everything.” –C.V. Wedgwood

And since I do not know something about everything, I decided I really just can’t homeschool my girls. They deserve SO MUCH more than what I think I’m capable of teaching them.  Not only that, but this summer has been really crazy and they haven’t been able to make many friends yet, so I really felt it was in their best interest to attend a public school, the local public school in fact.

I knew I needed to get the girls registered and thank goodness I finally looked into it when I did because last Friday I discovered that school started on Monday, yes in 2 days they were going back to school.

Katelyn took the news the best and was pretty excited to go to school and make friends. She really is a pretty happy-going girl and not too much really phases her.  Poor Lauren took it the hardest.  It was a pretty rough weekend honestly.  She was SO mad at me and felt like I had completely betrayed her.  She was disappointed that we didn’t move downtown and now she was not going to be home-schooled.  She really felt like we were taking everything away from her.  Thankfully, I had done school shopping earlier, but we took them shopping for new school shoes, backpacks, and school supplies and she seemed excited and happy, but when she noticed I had seen her smiling and happy she quickly frowned and said she was still mad at me.

After being in a charter school for 5 years there were a few differences in our new school.  First off, our new school is a year-round school.  We are looking forward to longer breaks during the year.  Next, the girls were SO excited to not have to wear uniforms. They were very happy to be able to wear “normal” clothes each day. I think truthfully being able to eat in a cafeteria (instead of their classroom at their desk), was almost just as cool and exciting as wearing normal clothes. Every day on the way home from school, the girls love to talk about what they ate for lunch that day. I’m always interested because I didn’t have to make and pack it for them–so much less stress for me too!  Another plus, is that their school is only a 3 minute drive or an 8 minute walk.  It is really nice being able to walk to and from school (the girls aren’t as excited about that as it is still pretty hot outside. I’m going to drive them until it cools down a little and then we’re back to walking).  One drawback is that in the charter school they were constantly changing classes and teachers and it made the day go by very quickly, at this school they are in the same classroom with the same teacher all day.  Lauren’s biggest complain is that the day drags by so so slowly.  They are enjoying the more laid-back atmosphere  and basically having no homework each night.  I am really hoping that the education is still great and that they are not missing out or stagnant in their education. I think it will be good for them to get to experience a year at a “regular” elementary school. (It is really crazy for me to realize that Lauren only has one more year after this one in elementary. I can’t believe how quickly she will be in a middle school/junior high school.)

Our first week went pretty well and I am happy that we are one week closer to our first break. (just 5 weeks left) I do think in all honesty there were some good times. Here are a few pictures from the week:

IMG_4766
Katelyn at her new desk. I had forgotten how fun and cute regular classroom look!
IMG_4767
Lauren at her new desk. She even managed to smile for me! 🙂 (even though she refused to do something cute with her hair)
IMG_4772
Discussing what they had for lunch while walking home.
IMG_4802
Happy to be finished for the week!
IMG_4804
Lauren and her friend walking out of school. (Lauren makes friends quickly and I’m not surprised to see she has friends already—including boys that say goodbye to her)
IMG_4809
Walked the few blocks to a local restaurant to dinner to celebrate our first week. Katelyn wanted me to take a picture of her “stretchy cheese” on her burrito.

IMG_4810

We took a stroll through the neighborhood trails to the park and Lauren picked me these flowers.

IMG_4814
James and I sitting on a park bench watching the girls swing.
IMG_4813
Enjoying a beautiful summer night after surviving the first week at school.

Leave a comment